On Saturday, April 2, the Rohnert Park-Cotati Regional Library is hosting the 2nd annual Sonoma County Local Author Showcase & Symposium. From 10:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., the event will shine a spotlight on a wide selection of today’s authors from all around Sonoma County, including nearly 50 authors with work ranging from romance to creative non-fiction, history to investigative reporting, and poetry to politics.

“A part of our mission, as a public library, is to help preserve and promote our local creativity,” said Sonoma County Library librarian David Dodd.

The idea is the brainchild of local author, Sabrina Rawson, who came to the Central Library’s branch manager about two years ago with the idea.

“This event was a dream of mine to co-host with local libraries within Sonoma County,” Rawson said. This year’s event “will include a panel discussion put together by Creative Sonoma, focusing on the business of writing.”

Sharing their expertise in writing as a business will be an agent, a publisher, a successful author and an academic. The event will also feature two sessions of Sonoma County authors reading from and speaking about their work. Authors will also be available for meet-and-greets, to answer questions and to showcase what they have written.

Both readers and writers are encouraged to attend, both for inspiration, good reads and to network with other writers and readers.

Find out all the details at sonomalibrary.org/SCLASS2.

Roster of this year’s participating authors

Panel info:

The Business of Writing

  • Bart Schneider (Beautiful Inez, Nameless Dame, The Man in the Blizzard)
  • Vicki DeArmon, director of marketing and events at Copperfield’s
  • Jennifer Soloway, Andrea Brown Literary Agency
  • Ellen Sussman (A Wedding in Provence, The Paradise Guest House, French Lessons, On a Night Like This).
  • Moderator: Janet Heller, founder of WritersCorps

To reserve a seat for the panel on The Business of Writing, please visit the Creative Sonoma site. 


  • Tina Azaria
  • Sandy Baker
  • Armando Garcia Davila
  • Carolyn Jewel
  • Jeanne Jusaitis
  • Maia Kobabe
  • Laura McHale Holland
  • Gilbert Mansergh
  • Leena Prasad
  • David Ramirez
  • Sabrina Rawson, event founder
  • Lilith Rogers
  • Jeane Slone
  • Waights Taylor, Jr.
  • David Templeton
  • Bill Vartnaw
  • Andy Weisskoff


  • Sheri Graves
  • William Haigwood
  • Sharon Hamilton
  • Jacqueline Harmon Butler
  • Jeffrey Hellman
  • Thonie Hevron
  • Daedalus Howell
  • Michele Anna Jordan
  • Robert Kourik
  • Christian Lane
  • Crissi Langwell
  • Marian Lindner
  • Amanda McTigue
  • Carol Miller
  • Jonah Raskin
  • Jo-Anne Rosen
  • The Sitting Room
  • Pamela Taeuffer
  • Nina Tepedino

(Visited 113 times, 1 visits today)